Catalan's manifesto

In March 1848 Catalan offered himself for election to the newly restored French National Assembly. Below is his manifesto.
You can see a translation at THIS LINK


RÉPUBLIQUE FRANÇAISE




Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité

Aux Electeurs


DU

DÉPARTEMENT DE LA SEINE




CITOYENS

Si vous voulez que la Republique fondée par vous soit durable et forte, envoyez à 'Assemblée nationale des hommes imbus du principe de la souveraineté du peuple; des hommes dont la patriotisme ait su résister à la corruption et à l'intimidation; des hommes enfin qui soient, non des républicains du lendemain, mais des républicains de la veille!

Je crois pouvoir me compter au nombre de ces hommes.

Nourri dans le mépris des rois, je saluai avec ivresse la chute de Charles X; je subis, mais en protest avec indignation, le mâitre que des intrigants et des dupes nous imposèrent à cette époque. Dupe moi-même un instant, je cessai de l'être lors de la retraite du vertueux Dupont (de l'Eure); et, avant la fin de 1830, j'étais républicain. Depuis, je n'ai pas laissé passer un seul jour sans contribuer par mes voeux, mes paroles et mes actes, au renversement de l'homme que la France a supporté trop longtemps!

Si mon nom n'a pas retenti dans les Assemblées politiques, c'est par une raison bien simple: sous la régime oligarchique que vous venez de renverser, je n'étais pas électeur, et je ne serais jamais devenu électeur! Mais consultez ceux que j'ose appeler mes illustres amis: Dupont (de l'Eure), Arago, Ledru-Rollin, Louis Blanc, Garnier-Pagès; interrogez les jeunes gens sortis de l'École Polytechnique depuis huit ans; invoquez les souvenirs de mes anciens camarades de la XIe légion: tous vous diront qu'ils m'ont constamment vu sur la brèche, et que mes opinions républicaines bien connues m'ont empêché d'obtenir l'avancement qui m'était légitimement dû. Les Éleves actuels de l'École Polytechnique, qui ont partagé vos périls et votre gloire, pourront ajouter que j'ai fait mon devoir de 24 et 25 février, soit dans la rue, soit à l'Hôtel-de-Ville.

Aujourd'hui, citoyens, pour récompense de mes services passés, je demande à rendre de nouveaux services à la patrie; je demande à prendre part aux travaux de cette Assemblée qui, plus heureuse que la Convention nationale, pourra mettre en pratique les principes de Liberté, d'Égalité, de Fraternité proclamés par celle-ci, et pour lesquels nos pères ont versé tant sang et tant de larmes!

EUGÈNE CATALAN
Répétiteur à l'École Polytechnique, Professeur au Lycée Charlemagne.

Paris, 25 Mars 1848


JOC/EFR September 2012

The URL of this page is:
http://www-history.mcs.st-andrews.ac.uk/Extras/Catalan_citoyens_f.html

Catalan's manifesto

In March 1848 Catalan offered himself for election to the newly restored French National Assembly. Below is a translation of his manifesto.
You can see the French original at THIS LINK


FRENCH REPUBLIC




Liberty, Equality, Fraternity

To the Electors


OF THE

DEPARTMENT OF THE SEINE




CITIZENS

If you want the Republic founded by you to be strong and durable, send the National Assembly men imbued with the principle of the sovereignty of the people; men whose patriotism has been able to resist corruption and intimidation; men who are moreover not the Republicans of tomorrow, but Republicans of yesterday!

I think I know how many there are of such men.

I was brought up to be contemptuous of kings and I greeted the fall of Charles X rapturously. I submitted, but protesting with indignation, to the master schemers and dupes we imposed on ourselves at that time. I myself was fooled for a moment, but I stopped being fooled at the retreat of the virtuous Dupont (de l'Eure), and before the end of 1830, I was a Republican. Since then, I have not missed a single day without contributing my wishes, my words and deeds, to the overthrow of the man that France supported too long!

If my name was not heard in the political assemblies, there is a very simple reason: in the oligarchic regime that you just reversed, I was not a voter, and I would never become a voter! But ask those whom I dare to call my illustrious friends: Dupont (de l'Eure), Arago, Ledru-Rollin, Louis Blanc, Garnier-Pagès; ask the young people who left the École Polytechnique the previous eight years; invoke memories of my old comrades of the eleventh legion: they will all tell you that I was always seen at the breach, and that my well known republican views prevented me from making the progress that I was legitimately due. Current students of the École Polytechnique, who shared your dangers and your glory will add that I did my duty on February 24 and 25, either in the street or at the Hôtel-de-Ville.

Today, citizens, to reward me for my past services, I request that I again be allowed to render services to the country. I want to take part in the work of the Assembly which, more successfully than the National Convention, may apply the principles of Liberty, Equality, Fraternity that it proclaimed itself, and for which our fathers have shed so much blood and tears!

EUGÈNE CATALAN
Tutor at the École Polytechnique, Professor at the Lycée Charlemagne.

Paris, 25 March 1848


JOC/EFR September 2012

The URL of this page is:
http://www-history.mcs.st-andrews.ac.uk/Extras/Catalan_citoyens.html