Hirst Prize winner

LMS Hirst Prize and lectureship

The London Mathematical Society first decided to award a prize for contributions to the history of mathematics as a part of the celebrations to mark the LMS 150th Anniversary.

It has since been decided that the prize will be awarded biannually.

The prize is named after Thomas Hirst who was the first Vice-president and the fifth President of the LMS and whose diary gives valuable insights into the lives of mathematicians of the 19th Century.

Prize winners

2015 John J O'Connor and Edmund F Robertson

for their creation, development and maintenance of the MacTutor History of Mathematics web site.

Index of Societies Index of Honours, etc.
Main index Biographies Index

JOC/EFR October 2016

The URL of this page is: