EMS Honorary Members

Edinburgh Mathematical Society - Honorary Members

The list given is of Honorary Members of the Edinburgh Mathematical Society. The list also gives the date of their election to honorary membership.

1883 Peter G Tait

1883 George Chrystal

1883 William Thomson

1883 Charles Niven

1894 John Sturgeon Mackay

1902 William Jack

1902 George Alexander Gibson

1908 Alfred G Greenhill

1912 Robert Franklin Muirhead

1915 Charles Tweedie

1923 James Bolam

1926 Henry F Baker

1926 George D Birkhoff

1930 Tullio Levi-Civita

1930 Herbert W Richmond

1933 D'Arcy Thompson

1935 Ellice Martin Horsburgh

1937 Edmund T Whittaker

1938 René M Fréchet

1946 Joseph H M Wedderburn

1954 Luitzen E J Brouwer

1954 William V Hodge

1954 Herbert W Turnbull

1959 Harold S M Coxeter

1967 Alexander C Aitken

1979 Edward T Copson

1979 Michael F Atiyah

1983 William L Edge

1990 Robert Alexander Rankin

2008 John M Ball,   James D Murray

2010 Friedrich Hirzebruch

MacTutor links:

History of the EMS
Presidents of the EMS
Treasurers of the EMS
Secretaries of the EMS

EMS Prizes etc:

EMS Whittaker Prize
EMS Honorary Members
EMS Founder Members

Other Web site:

EMS Web site

Index of Societies, honours, etc.
Welcome page Biographies Index
History Topics Index Famous curves index
Chronology Time lines
Mathematicians of the day Anniversaries for the year
Search Form Birthplace Maps

JOC/EFR March 2015

The URL of this page is: